January 29, 2017

The Foundation

In May 2016, the Valentia Transatlantic Cable Foundation Board was established to assist the Valentia Island Development Company with fundraising for the Transatlantic Cable UNESCO World Heritage Designation project.

The foundation was incorporated as a company limited by guarantee in December 2016 with the objective of the raising and application of money and other resources to advance the scientific heritage of, and community development on, Valentia Island and to promote Valentia Island as a site which should be included on UNESCO’s World Heritage List.

The foundation’s goal is to secure the required support and funding (estimated to be approximately €4.5m) by raising the profile of the project at national and international level while engaging with state funding opportunities and private donors.

The Current 2023 Board members are:

  • Leonard Hobbs (Chairperson), Director, Trinity Research & Innovation, Trinity College Dublin
  • Michael Lyne, Valentia Island Development Company
  • Moira Murrell, CEO Kerry County Council
  • Mary Rose Stafford, Head of School – Business, Computing & Humanities, Munster Technological University
  • Martin Shanahan, CEO IDA Ireland
  • Sean Ryan, CEO Aspen Grove Solutions
  • Seamus Walsh, GM BT Ireland
  • Kate Hickey, Executive Director, Ireland Canada Business Association
  • John Griffin, Tourism Officer, Kerry County Council
  • Mark Redmond, CEO American Chamber Ireland
  • Fiona Lyne, International Foundation for Integrated Care
  • Vincent Kidd, Director Royal Valentia Hotel

Strong links have also been established with the Director of Heritage in Newfoundland, Mr Gerry Osmond, previous Ambassadors to Ireland from Canada, Mr Loyola Hearn and Mr Kevin Vickers, and current Ambassador, Ms Nancy Smyth. Newfoundland are also pursuing UNESCO heritage status for the Hearts Content site.

Foundation Board Member February 2017 | Valentia Transatlantic Cable Foundation

Original 2016 Foundation Board Members:
Standing Left to Right: Anthony O’Connell, Leonard Hobbs, Mary Rose Stafford, Moira Murrell, John Griffin
Seated Left to Right: Dennis Jennings, Michael Lyne, Martin Shanahan
Not pictured: Bob Joyce, Seamus Walsh, Mark Redmond